Array
Elke Fiebig

Elke Fiebig was born in 1986 in Zwenkau and today lives in Berlin. She studied fashion design at the Weißensee School of Art in Berlin and at Designskolen Kolding, Denmark and concluded her studies in 2013 with a diploma. In 2014 she was a master student of Prof. Clara Leskovar and Prof. Doreen Schulz at the Weißensee School of Art in Berlin and in 2015 she received the Elsa-Neumann scholarship of the city of Berlin for the promotion of new talent in the arts. The fashion designer is a follower of the slow fashion philosophy and in 2014 founded her own label with “STILL garments”.

www.stillgarments.com/

Elke Fiebig developed and produced a small, concentrated “Capsule Wardrobe”. The elements of the collection can be multiply worn and combined. The fashion designer Elke Fiebig is a follower of the slow fashion philosophy and in her work considers as many aspects as possible to create sustainable fashion which includes social considerations in the manufacturing process, a careful choice of resources, cutting designs to conserve material and the lifecycle of the garments. The collection “wardrobe essentials” is created using a zero-waste cutting process. For this purpose the fashion designer developed printing and textile painting techniques which she implemented with natural colouring pigments.


Carolina Rebelo Schneider

Carolina Rebelo Schneider was born in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil and is now living in Berlin. She studied product design at the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil and at the Anhalt university of applied sciences in Dessau and completed her studies with a bachelor’s degree in 2010. She then took a master’s degree in industrial and strategic design at the Aalto university in Helsinki, Finland which she concluded in 2015. Carolina Rebelo Schneider has already worked in a number of countries, e.g. at Jacob Jensen Design in Hoejslev, Denmark, at Fullpack in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil and as a freelance designer in Helsinki, Finland.

Carolina Rebelo Schneider developed a new type of walking stick with a seat for senior citizens. The use of walking sticks is on the decrease because the target group of senior citizens nowadays mainly use walker frames. The walking sticks currently available on the market often do not meet the emotional requirements of the user and they look old-fashioned and of a medical nature. The walking stick created is therefore a walking stick with a seat which is aesthetically pleasing, does not stigmatise and is an item which is well-liked in the daily routine.


Vera Stassen

Vera Stassen was born in 1986 in Essen, Germany and lives in Krefeld. She completed her apprenticeship to become a goldsmith in Kevelaer and afterwards studied product design at the Niederrhein university of applied sciences in Krefeld and at the Aalto university in Helsinki, Finland. Furthermore, she attended external courses at the Düsseldorf university of applied sciences, the Folkwang university of the arts in Essen and the Cologne International School of Design. Since 2012 Vera Stassen has had a scholarship from the German academic scholarship foundation.

verastassen.de/

Vera Stassen transformed siliconised coal developed by her into jewellery. This was preceded by a comprehensive study of the material where the jewellery designer examined the joining of the raw material of coal with silicon, a technique which up to now has only been used in industry. The processing makes the coal robust and gives it an aesthetically interesting surface quality. The siliconisation provides the coal with a firm microstructure and the originally breakable and black rock is given the characteristics of a gemstone and can be worn.


Jury

Tim Labenda/ Fashion designer

Tim Labenda has trained as a men’s tailor with Hugo Boss and then studied fashion design at the Faculty of Design at Pforzheim University. This was followed by stations with Kenneth Cole in New York and Ute Ploier in Vienna, before the Rhineland-born designer set up his own business in Würzburg. Today he lives in Berlin and Würzburg. Since 2012 he has been creating men’s fashion and was convinced by Vogue editor-in-chief Christiane Arp to design women’s fashion for the Vogue Salon in the ProSieben show “Fashion Hero”. His collections are casual, comfortable and yet refined, functional and fair produced. In 2013, he was placed 2nd in the European Fashion Award “Fash” and was rewarded with the sponsorship prize of the “Wilhelm Lorch Foundation”.

Philipp Eberle/ Jewelry designer

Philipp Eberle studied at the Faculty of Design of Pforzheim University and worked as a jewelery designer in Pforzheim for two years. Since 2009 he lives and works in Paris. He has created his own brand “The lettering”, a timeless letter ring that reminds of the seal rings. In addition, he designs several well-known labels for renowned labels, including Hugo Boss, Kenzo and Swarovski.

Christiane Nicolaus/ Director of the Design Center Baden-Württemberg

Christiane Nicolaus studied product design with focus on industrial design at the University of Kassel. She worked at HEWI Heinrich Wilke GmbH in Bad Arolsen, initially as a member of the creative team, later as head of the innovation department. This was followed by the management of the team industrialdesign at the agency sieger design, Sassenberg, and the activity as a freelance designer. Since July 2011, Christiane Nicolaus is the head of the Design Center Baden-Württemberg.

Alexander Schlag/ Manager of yellow design gmbh in Pforzheim/ Tokyo

Alexander Schlag studied industrial design at the University of Applied Sciences in Darmstadt. After design studies for Sony and design developments for Pfaff, he began as a product designer at yellow design in Pforzheim in 1999 and became an office manager there later. After merging with the Cologne agency in 2002 he became a member of the management team. In 2009 he founded yellow design GmbH Pforzheim/ Tokyo, together with Günter Horntrich. Now Alexander Schlag is managing director and creative director.

Array
Elke Fiebig

Elke Fiebig wurde 1986 in Zwenkau geboren und lebt in Berlin. Elke Fiebig studierte Modedesign an der Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin sowie an der Designskolen Kolding, Dänemark, und schloss ihr Studium 2013 mit einem Diplom ab. 2014 war sie Meisterschülerin bei Prof. Clara Leskovar und Prof. Doreen Schulz an der Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin; 2015 erhielt sie das Elsa-Neumann-Stipendium der Stadt Berlin zur Förderung des künstlerischen Nachwuchses. Die Modedesignerin hat sich der Slow-Fashion-Philosophie verschrieben und gründete 2014 ihr eigenes Label STILL garments.

www.stillgarments.com/

Elke Fiebig entwickelte und produzierte eine kleine, konzentrierte „Capsule Wardrobe“. Die Elemente der Kollektion sind multipel tragbar und kombinierbar. Die Modedesignerin Elke Fiebig hat sich der Slow-Fashion-Philosophie verschrieben und berücksichtigt in ihrer Arbeit möglichst viele Aspekte nachhaltiger Mode – dazu zählen soziale Aspekte in der Herstellung, eine aufmerksame Wahl der Ressourcen, materialschonende Schnittkonstruktionen sowie der Lebenszyklus der Kleidungsstücke. Die Kollektion „wardrobe essentials“ ist aus Zero-Waste-Schnitten entstanden. Eigens hierfür hat die Modedesignerin Druck- und Textilmaltechniken entwickelt, die sie mit natürlichen Farbpigmenten umgesetzt hat.


Carolina Rebelo Schneider

Carolina Rebelo Schneider wurde in Rio de Janeiro, Brasilien, geboren und lebt in Berlin. Sie studierte Produktdesign an der Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brasilien, und an der Hochschule Anhalt in Dessau und machte 2010 ihren Bachelorabschluss. Es folgte ein Masterstudium in Industrial and Strategic Design an der Aalto University in Helsinki, Finnland, welches sie 2015 mit einem Master abschloss. Carolina Rebelo Schneider arbeitete bereits in etlichen Ländern, zum Beispiel bei Jacob Jensen Design in Hoejslev, Dänemark, bei Fullpack in Rio de Janeiro, Brasilien, und als Freelance Designer in Helsinki, Finnland.

Carolina Rebelo Schneider entwickelte einen neuartigen Gehstock mit Sitz für Senioren. Die Nutzung eines Gehstocks ist rückläufig, da die Zielgruppe der Senioren heutzutage größtenteils Rollatoren verwendet. Die auf dem Markt vorhandenen Gehstöcke mit Sitz entsprechen oft nicht den emotionalen Bedürfnissen der Nutzer – sie sehen altmodisch und medizinisch aus. Entstanden ist daher ein Gehstock mit Sitz, der ästhetisch anspricht, nicht stigmatisiert und ein gern genutzter Alltagsbegleiter ist.


Vera Stassen

Vera Stassen wurde 1986 in Essen geboren und lebt in Krefeld. Vera Stassen absolvierte eine Ausbildung zur Goldschmiedin in Kevelaer und studierte im Anschluss daran Produktdesign an der Hochschule Niederrhein in Krefeld und an der Aalto University in Helsinki, Finnland. Darüber hinaus besuchte sie externe Kurse an der Fachhochschule Düsseldorf, der Folkwang Universität der Künste Essen und der Köln International School of Design. Seit 2012 erhält Vera Stassen ein Stipendium der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes.

verastassen.de/

Vera Stassen verarbeitete eine von ihr entwickelte silizierte Steinkohle zu Schmuck. Vorausgegangen ist eine umfassende Materialstudie, in der sich die Schmuckdesignerin mit der Verbindung des Rohstoffs Kohle mit Silicium, einer bislang nur in der Industrie angewendeten Technik, auseinandergesetzt hat. Durch die Bearbeitung erhält die Steinkohle Beständigkeit und eine ästhetisch reizvolle Oberflächenbeschaffenheit. Die Silizierung verleiht der Steinkohle ein festes Gefüge, das ursprünglich brüchige und schwärzende Gestein erhält die Eigenschaften eines Edelsteins und wird tragbar.


Jury

Tim Labenda/ Modedesigner

Tim Labenda hat eine Ausbildung bei Hugo Boss zum Herrenschneider absolviert und danach Modedesign an der Fakultät für Gestaltung der Hochschule Pforzheim studiert. Es folgten Stationen bei Kenneth Cole in New York und Ute Ploier in Wien, bevor sich der gebürtige Rheinländer in Würzburg selbständig machte. Heute lebt er in Berlin und Würzburg. Seit 2012 kreiert er Männermode und wurde in der ProSieben Show „Fashion Hero“ von Vogue Chefredakteurin Christiane Arp überzeugt für den Vogue Salon auch Frauenmode zu entwerfen. Seine Kollektionen sind lässig, bequem und doch raffiniert, funktional und fair produziert. 2013 erhielt er den 2. Platz beim European Fashion Award „Fash“ und wurde mit dem Förderpreis der „Wilhelm-Lorch-Stiftung“ ausgezeichnet.

Philipp Eberle/ Schmuckdesigner

Philipp Eberle hat an der Fakultät für Gestaltung der Hochschule Pforzheim studiert und zwei Jahre als Schmuckdesigner in Pforzheim gearbeitet. Seit 2009 lebt und arbeitet er in Paris. Er hat eine eigene Marke kreiert „The letterring“, einen zeitlosen Buchstabenring, der an die Siegelringe erinnert. Daneben entwirft er für bekannte Label mehrere Schmuckkollektionen im Jahr, darunter für Hugo Boss, Kenzo und Swarovski.

Christiane Nicolaus/ Direktorin des Design Center Baden-Württemberg

Christiane Nicolaus studierte Produktdesign mit Schwerpunkt Industriedesign an der Universität Kassel. Sie arbeitete bei der HEWI Heinrich Wilke GmbH in Bad Arolsen, zunächst als Mitglied des Creativ Teams, später als Leiterin der Stabsstelle Innovationen. Es folgte die Leitung des Teams Industriedesign in der Agentur sieger design, Sassenberg, und die Tätigkeit als freiberufliche Designerin. Seit Juli 2011 hat Christiane Nicolaus die Leitung des Design Center Baden-Württemberg inne.

Alexander Schlag/ Geschäftsführer von yellow design gmbh in Pforzheim/ Tokyo

Alexander Schlag studierte Industriedesign an der University of Applied Sciences in Darmstadt. Nach Designstudien für Sony und Designentwicklungen für Pfaff begann er 1999 bei yellow design in Pforzheim als Produktdesigner, avancierte dort zum Büroleiter und wurde 2002 nach Zusammenschluss mit der Kölner Agentur Mitglied der Geschäftsführung. 2009 gründete er gemeinsam mit Günter Horntrich yellow design GmbH Pforzheim/Tokyo, deren Geschäftsführer und Kreativdirektor er ist.