Array
Caio Mahin

Caio Mahin, born 1991 in Recife, is a Brazilian jewellery artist based in Lisbon, Portugal. He graduated in Design by the Universidade Federal de Pernambuco (Brazil), with a sandwich scholarship at the Rochester Institute of Technology (USA), granted by the Brazilian Government program Science Without Borders, where he was first introduced to contemporary jewellery. After finishing a three year-long specialization in jewellery at ArCo (Portugal), he is presently realizing a menthored independent project, partially financed by Tereza Seabra’s Scholarship for ArCo Students.

cargocollective.com/caiomahin

The jewellery pieces of the Brazilian jewellery designer Caio Mahin convey both a very personal story and a political message: Caio Mahin’s first experiences with jewellery were very painful: growing up in Brazil, he expressed the wish to have his ears pierced as a 9-year-old boy. So his father threatened to pierce his ears himself with a rusty garden rake. The feminine aura of jewellery became a danger for Caio Mahin, but at the same time represented his deepest need for a form of expression. In his latest work, he explored the origins of this boy who wanted to have his ears pierced and also dealt with the aesthetic construction of gender roles and stereotypes, turning this project into a political topic with a queer perspective. In Pforzheim, he wants to continue and deepen this work.


Marina Aleksashina

Marina Aleksashina was born and raised in Moscow. She studied academic drawing and painting and afterwards fashion design and art direction in the fashion industry at the HSE Art and Design School in Moscow. During her studies, she was interested in the social and political overtones in contemporary design, which she embodied in her diploma collection. With her diploma collection she entered the finals of the Design Graduate Show of i-D and Artsthread. Besides her fashion design projects, she is interested in interdisciplinary design and development of design spaces. In 2018, Marina Aleksashina won the competition announced by Hermès for the creation and development of Hermès showcases in Moscow.

readymag.com/anfxl/2299386/3/

The fashion designer Marina Aleksashina from Russia does not only want to create pure design objects, but also tells stories and deals with social issues in her collections. During her scholarship, she wants to explore the imposition of roles and the transmission of expectations through clothing, combining attributes from military clothing and carnival costumes that children use to dress up as adults: “I see my project as a work at the intersection of fashion and contemporary art that tells a story of growing up and playing with the change in our roles and expectations,” says Marina Aleksashina about her plan. Her collection is based on the feeling of a child discovering for the first time something strange and peculiar from the world of adults. At the end of the three months, she wants to present her work in the form of an installation, a video and animations.


Naama Levit

Naama Levit was born in Jerusalem and is currently living and working in New York. The focus of her work is the exploration of materials and their potential of transformation. She works interdisciplinarily between the fields of jewellery and objects, installation, performance and photography. Naama Levit studied Jewellery design at the Bezalel Academy of Art and Design in Jerusalem and graduated with a master’s degree in metal art from the Cranbrook Academy of Art in Michigan, United States. She received a number of awards including the Mercedes Benz Emerging Artist Award, the merit scholarship bestowed by Cranbrook Academy of Art and Haystack mountain School of Craft AIDA fellowship. Her work has been exhibited in museums in Israel, galleries in the Netherlands, Germany, Poland and Detroit, US.

Naama Levit deals with current concepts of “home” and private space and raises questions about mobility, nomadism and identity. During her stay in Pforzheim, she wants to create an interdisciplinary “nomadic installation” with objects, jewellery, furniture and materials that question familiarity. For this, she collects materials, documents shapes and spaces and observes which personal objects people wear on their bodies in their surroundings. She disassembles her found objects, explores their potential for transformation and creates new objects from them.


Jury

Sam Tho Duong/ Jewelry designer

Sam Tho Duong attended the city’s Hochschule für Gestaltung after his training as a goldsmith in Pforzheim. Since then, he is working as a freelance designer in Pforzheim and is known for his detailed and complex jewelry. His award-winning works are presented in private collections and museums worldwide, for example in the Schmuckmuseum Pforzheim, the Museum of Art and Design in New York or the CODA Museum in Apeldoorn.

Amelie Marie Gaydoul/ Menswear designer

Amelie Marie Gaydoul studied fashion design in Pforzheim and then graduated from the prestigious MA Menswear course at the University of Westminster in London. Afterwards, she worked e.g. for Norse projects or Givenchy. Currently she is living in Copenhagen and is a Menswear Designer on freelance basis for brands in London, Paris and Copenhagen.

Stefan Lippert/ Managing Director UP Designstudio

Stefan Lippert is founder and managing director at UP Designstudio in Stuttgart, one of the larger product design consultancies in Germany that has won numerous international Design awards. Furthermore, Stefan Lippert is a startup entrepreneur, under his direction the ELMOTO electric motorcycle and GIBBON Slacklines were created.

Array
Caio Mahin

Caio Mahin, geboren 1991 in Recife, ist ein brasilianischer Schmuckkünstler mit Sitz in Lissabon, Portugal. Er studierte Design an der Universidade Federal de Pernambuco in Brasilien mit einem Sandwich-Stipendium des brasilianischen Regierungsprogramms „Wissenschaft ohne Grenzen“ am Rochester Institute of Technology (USA), wo er zum ersten Mal mit zeitgenössischem Schmuck in Kontakt kam. Nach dem Abschluss einer dreijährigen Spezialisierung in Schmuck an der ArCo (Portugal), realisiert er derzeit ein unabhängiges Projekt, das teilweise durch das Tereza Seabra-Stipendium für ArCo-Studenten finanziert wird.

cargocollective.com/caiomahin

Die Schmuckstücke des brasilianischen Schmuckdesigners Caio Mahin transportieren sowohl eine sehr persönliche Geschichte als auch eine politische Botschaft: Caio Mahins erste Erfahrungen mit Schmuck waren sehr schmerzhaft: In Brasilien aufgewachsen, äußerte er als 9-jähriger Junge den Wunsch, sich die Ohren piercen zu lassen. Daraufhin drohte sein Vater, ihm selbst mithilfer einer rostigen Gartenharke ein Ohrloch zu stechen. Die weibliche Aura des Schmucks wurde für Caio Mahin so zur Gefahr, repräsentierte jedoch gleichzeitig sein tiefstes Bedürfnis nach einer Ausdrucksform. In seiner letzten Arbeit erforschte er die Ursprünge dieses Jungen, der sich die Ohren piercen lassen wollte und beschäftigte sich zudem mit der ästhetischen Konstruktion von Geschlechterrollen und Stereotypen, was dieses Projekt zu einem politischen Thema mit einer queeren Perspektive macht. In Pforzheim möchte er diese Arbeit weiter fortführen und vertiefen.


Marina Aleksashina

Marina Aleksashina ist in Moskau geboren und aufgewachsen. Sie studierte akademisches Zeichnen und Malerei und anschließend Modedesign und Art Direction in der Modeindustrie an der HSE Art and Design School in Moskau. Während ihres Studiums interessierte sie sich für soziale und politische Aspekte des zeitgenössischen Designs, was sie auch in ihre Abschlusskollektion einfließen ließ. Mit ihrer Abschlusskollektion erreichte sie das Finale der Design Graduiertenshow von i-D und Artsthread. Neben ihren Modedesign-Projekten interessiert sie sich für interdisziplinäres Design und die Entwicklung von Designräumen. 2018 gewann Marina Aleksashina den Wettbewerb von Hermès zur Gestaltung von Schaufenstern in Moskau.

readymag.com/anfxl/2299386/3/

Die Modedesignerin Marina Aleksashina aus Russland möchte nicht nur reine Designobjekte schaffen, sondern erzählt mir ihren Kollektionen Geschichten und arbeitet gesellschaftliche Themen auf. Während ihres Stipendiums möchte sie sich mit der Auferlegung von Rollen und der Übertragung von Erwartungen durch Kleidung beschäftigen, und zwar durch die Vermischung von Attributen aus Militärkleidung und Karnevalskostümen, mit denen Kinder sich als Erwachsene verkleiden: „Ich sehe mein Projekt als Arbeit an der Schnittstelle von Mode und zeitgenössischer Kunst, die eine Geschichte vom Erwachsenwerden und dem Spiel mit der Veränderung unserer Rollen und Erwartungen erzählt“, so Marina Aleksashina über ihr Vorhaben. Ihrer Kollektion legt sie dabei das Gefühl eines Kindes zugrunde, das zum ersten Mal etwas Fremdes und Eigenartiges aus der Welt der Erwachsenen entdeckt. Am Ende der drei Monate möchte sie ihre Arbeit in Form einer Installation, eines Videos und Animationen präsentieren.


Naama Levit

Naama Levit wurde in Jerusalem geboren, momentan lebt und arbeitet sie in New York. Der Schwerpunkt ihrer Arbeit liegt auf der Erforschung von Materialien und ihrem Potential zur Transformation. Dabei bewegt sie sich interdisziplinär zischen den Bereichen Schmuck und Objekten, Installation, Performance und Fotografie. Naama Levit studierte Schmuckdesign an der Bezalel Academy of Art and Design in Jerusalem und absolvierte den Master in Metallkunst an der Cranbrook Academy of Art in Michigan, USA. Sie erhielt eine Reihe von Auszeichnungen, darunter den Mercedes Benz Emerging Artist Award, das Verdienststipendium der Cranbrook Academy of Art und das Haystack Mountain AIDA-Stipendium der School of Craft. Ihre Arbeiten wurden bereits in Museen in Israel, in Galerien in den Niederlanden, Deutschland, Polen und Detroit, USA ausgestellt.

Naama Levit beschäftigt sich mit aktuellen Konzepten des „zu Hause“ und des privaten Raums und stellt Fragen nach Mobilität, Nomadentum und Identität. Während ihres Aufenthaltes in Pforzheim möchte sie eine interdisziplinäre „nomadische Installation“ schaffen, mit Objekten, Schmuck, Möbeln und Materialien, die Vertrautheit hinterfragen. Dazu sammelt sie Materialien, dokumentiert Formen und Räume und beobachtet, welche persönlichen Gegenstände die Menschen in ihrer Umgebung am Körper tragen. Ihre Fundstücke zerlegt sie, erforscht ihr Umwandlungspotential und schafft daraus neue Objekte.


Jury

Sam Tho Duong/ Schmuckdesigner

Sam Tho Duong besuchte nach der Goldschmiedelehre in Pforzheim die Hochschule für Gestaltung in Pforzheim. Seither arbeitet er als freischaffender Designer in Pforzheim und ist für seinen detaillierten und vielschichtigen Körper- und Halsschmuck bekannt. Seine vielfach ausgezeichneten Arbeiten sind weltweit Teil privater und musealer Sammlungen, u.a. im Schmuckmuseum Pforzheim, im Museums of Art and Design in New York oder im CODA Museum Apeldoorn.

Amelie Marie Gaydoul/ Menswear Designer

Amelie Marie Gaydoul studierte Modedesign an der Hochschule Pforzheim und absolvierte anschließend den MA in Menswear an der University of Westminster in London. Anschließend arbeitete sie u.a. bei Norse Projects oder Givenchy. Aktuell lebt sie in Kopenhagen und arbeitet freiberuflich als Menswear Designerin für Unternehmen in London, Paris und Kopenhagen.

Stefan Lippert/ Geschäftsführer UP Designstudio

Stefan Lippert ist Gründer und Geschäftsführer des UP Designstudios in Stuttgart, das zu den größeren Beratungsunternehmen für Produktdesign in Deutschland gehört und mit zahlreichen internationalen Designpreisen ausgezeichnet wurde. Weiterhin ist Stefan Lippert als Startup-Unternehmer aktiv. So entstanden unter seiner Leitung etwa das ELMOTO Elektromotorrad und die GIBBON Slacklines.